What is Multiple Sclerosis?

261612Multiple_Sclerosis

You can search the internet for days and look for the definition of MS. Trust me, I’ve been there! Looking at so many different explanations it only confused me more. So, let me try to dumb it down for those of us who are not studying medicine!

all+rage+faces+are+memes+but+not+all+memes+are+_bd6d0b1f279e37ab2ba2307f01009842

chalkboard-kids

Multiple sclerosis or MS is a chronic disease that affects the brain and spinal cord; these are two components of the central nervous system.  What is a Chronic Illness you say? It is a long-lasting, long duration condition. Chronic diseases can be controlled, but, unfortunately there is no cure, as of yet (let’s stay positive!). Anywho! Because of the affect that MS has on the brain and spinal cord a lot of people have difficulties, such as, impaired or loss of:

–           muscle control

–          vision

–          balance

–          sensation (numbness, tingling, burning, itching etc.)

Wait+WHAT+.+I+don+t+even+know_23988f_3996414

Want to know the worst part? Our own immune system is the thing causing all of the damage to our nerves in the brain and spinal cord! As a result of this, Multiple Sclerosis is known and assumed to be an autoimmune disease.

62ed537ef0f7e3df8afa10960be1254b18335b3b24fe417fd70da63a0cf1a63e

Are you still with me? You can do it, keep going!

Do_you_understand_gif

Now, an autoimmune disease is basically where your body’s immune system (which is usually our protector) targets and destroys foreign substances in your body (like bacteria and such). For those of us lucky enough to have MS (yeah..), this so-called “protector” makes a silly mistake and attacks our good/normal tissue in the brain and spinal cord.

Now, remember how I was talking about the symptoms above? This next part will explain how people get these weird symptoms.

584455125_20322722_answer_1_xlarge

So, let’s talk about the central nervous system (CNS), shall we? This is made up of nerves, these nerves act like the systems messengers. For example, your brain tells your hand to grasp the handle of your cup of tea, so, you do just that. These nerves are surrounded by a type of fatty substance called myelin. This little stuff helps to protect said nerves and helps deliver the various messages to parts of our body. From A to B; the brain to parts of the body. Like text messages or emails! These little messages control muscle movements like walking, talking etc.

Picture4

Because of this, the myelin breaks down and/or becomes scarred. This distorts or even blocks the flow of messages, which results in the many symptoms of MS. Sounds fun, aye? Many people explain MS like a faulty electrical flex on a kettle, or like a faulty wire.  The nerve can be compared to an electrical cable; the axon, or nerve fibre that transmits the nerve impulse or message, is like the copper wire; and the myelin sheath is like the insulation around the wire. If the insulating flex breaks, it exposes the wires underneath making them more vulnerable to damage.

ElectricalWire

9 (1)

.

.

.

.

.

I hope that I helped shed some light on the way Multiple Sclerosis works on the human body!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Régina
    Jan 09, 2014 @ 21:29:37

    Hi Karolyn .
    congrats on taking this step .Do you think it would be helpful if you explain your own introduction to MS. ?

    Reply

  2. jemima24
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 11:41:26

    Reblogged this on jemimaj24.

    Reply

  3. Rira87
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 13:50:27

    Hi Karolyn, great blog. I got diagnosed with MS 3 months ago. I am unfortunately in Australia so it has been a huge thing to deal with. Thankfully I have a super bf who has been my rock but its very hard not to think about what may happen and what impact it will have on our lives. Most days it doesnt even cross my mind that I actually have it. I am starting treatment next month here in Perth.
    Thanks for sharing your experience so far hope to read more and feel less like Me vs MS.
    Cheers,
    Rhea

    Reply

    • karolynkristen
      Jan 23, 2014 @ 15:18:13

      Aw, I’m sorry to hear about your diagnosis. Everyone dreads the confirmation of it 😦 I found, and still find, that support from family and friends is a big big thing! Sometimes I do feel “isolated” and “different” from them, but, its great to have them there nonetheless 🙂 yeah, I know how it is thinking and being worried about the future! But, the way I see things now is if I can do it today, I will. Because in a couple of years time, who knows what I will and will not be capable of. But, stay positive! The amount of development happening towards better treatment and a cure is very reassuring! I even heard that scientist in Australia are making good progress! 😀 I’ll be talking about my medication and treatments over the next few blogs. I really appreciate you reading this and if you ever want to get in contact with me through Facebook or email, let me know! Good luck, Rhea! And thanks again 😀 ~Karolyn

      Reply

Leave a Reply

