Mo Scéal – Before My Diagnosis

Im-so-tired-puppies-9726114-1600-1200

The most prominent thing I remember over the past few years was always being tired. No matter how much sleep I got, no matter how I tried to relax; I would always struggle with lack of energy. Everything from yawning, lack of concentration, focus levels practically depleted and no enthusiasm whatsoever. To be honest, I never really thought that hard about it. I just thought I was lazy!

Today-has-bee-cancelled

The first time I remember feeling weird (this is the only word that aptly describes what you feel when relapsing with MS!) symptoms was in June of 2012. At the time, I had no idea that or if it was anything to do with Multiple Sclerosis. I’m not going to go into details about these symptoms yet, I’ll be saving that excitement for a separate blog! Anywho, the whole right side of my body went numb. Yes, ALL of my right side and yes; NUMB. This lasted a little over 6 weeks. I visited the ER with hopes of someone telling me what it was. The doctor there said that he was “puzzled” and thought that maybe it was “viral”. Good job, Doc. Good job.

zN4HO

In December of 2012 I had my first experience with optic neuritis. This is a condition where inflammation of the optic nerve occurs and it causes a complete or partial loss of vision. Luckily enough, I only had partial loss of vision for about 4 weeks in my left eye. Can you say “annoying”? As if thinking I was going blind was bad enough, in the first 2 weeks of January 2013 I got what is known as “spasticity”. This was by far the toughest relapse I have experienced to date.

ray_can_t_see_shit

I know what you’re thinking “wow, has she got a good memory or what?!” 😉 But, stop, you flatter me!

damn-im-good

So, on the 15th of January I was admitted to hospital. Suffering from severe muscle spasms on the right side of my body, I would spasm every 15 minutes. Whenever I would change posture, another spasm would “activate”. Let’s just say that it was not very pleasant. Long story short, they took blood tests, did a lumber puncture, and I had 3-4 MRI’s taken, EEG’s and ECG’s, the lot! Eventually, I was put on a 3 day dose of steroids and was released on the 21st of January 2013.

genieCheerleader_963

On the 7th of February 2013 I was officially diagnosed with Relapsing-Remitting MS.

 creepy-willy-wonka-meme-generator-you-have-got-to-be-shitting-me-98cc51

My next blog will focus on my diagnosis and how I felt, acted, thought etc.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hilda Leahy
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 23:34:46

    Well done

    Reply

Leave a Reply

