MS and Normality

They say that people with MS can live a “normal life”. I have been diagnosed almost 2 years and I disagree with that statement. If by “normal” they mean “restricted”, then sure, you can live said life. Yes, for the most part I am able to do what any other “normal”person can do, but, my abilities are restricted. It’s the simple little things that build up after a while and you start to feel frustrated and not so “normal”.

normal-people

I along with 80% of MSers struggle with fatigue. Click here to read my blog on fatigue. This is definitely the most frustrating symptom to live with. Being so tired a lot of the time is far from “normal”. I could wake up a little sleepy, who doesn’t? But, all of a sudden when I get downstairs my energy is zapped! My legs feel heavy, my eyes won’t stay open and I have no enthusiasm or interest in doing anything. Just like that, I’m as good as a vegetable. Now, imagine that I have plans to go to a concert. I have been looking forward to this event for months. I feel like a dead weight and I’m supposed to drive an hour up the road to see this gig. How sh*t is that? I’m sure you understand how utterly infuriating that is!

full-of-positive-energy-and-its-gone_o_814242

Another thing that makes me feel different is when I go to the gym. I have different exercises that I do because my body isn’t able to do the regular ones. I know that its great being able to go to the gym full stop, but, when your programme has to be changed because your balance isn’t great or you get tired much faster than everyone else; it’s a bit of a kick up the hole. I need a fan on me for the majority of the time because I suffer from heat intolerance. Meaning, symptoms can appear while my body is over heated. I usually get dizzy, my vision gets blurry and every ounce of energy get sucked out of me like a vampire sucking blood from it’s prey. Not a very pleasant experience, to say the least. This is frustrating, and most importantly, embarrassing. Having to stop your workout in front of people who are exercising diligently is heart-breaking. I was trying just as hard as they were, but, because of this stupid illness I was forced to stop. How is that anyway “normal”? Why do I get punished for doing something that is vital in keeping healthy as exercising? It makes me so mad. When one is diagnosed with MS one hears a lot of phrases like “you will live a normal life”, “you are no different than anyone else”. How about you tell that to this stupid disease? Enraging. Everyone has a limit, but, mine seems to be lower than Liverpool on the Premier League table. I have to do everything slower. Start off with lower weights, walk slowly as opposed to briskly, and get up from seating positions (on the ground or bench) gradually because of my balance and the fact that I’m prone to dizzy spells. That is not normal!

8bd27eca5a3a8068d5b738ce7fa276ae

5562ed68373575212346345b5c0dfa3d492790c6a67e9ed47ecec4237582ac99

Not only do I have to exercise with caution, but, I must choose which career to pursue with care. I’ve wanted to be a teacher for as long as I can remember. Apparently this is the perfect job for someone like me, someone with MS. I can sit down, I don’t have to do a lot of walking, I can do part-time hours, not much stress is involved (allegedly), the holidays, the weekends etc. How is this normal? Having to pick your career based on your health and physical abilities. This disease is unfair, what illness isn’t though? It’s annoying that I have to think about my distant future at the age of 22. I have only just got my degree, now I have to think about things like “What if I relapse?” “What if I need time off to get an MRI?” “What if I have to go home due to feeling unwell?” “What if my medication doesn’t work and I need time off to start my new meds?” All of these questions need to be accommodated for before I can pick the career path that I want to follow. Someone please tell me how this is normal. I understand that many people have to ask themselves questions before they can pursue their desired occupation, but, do they have to ask themselves questions like I do?

have-you-ever-been-so-angry_o_1010248

I do still strongly believe in positive thinking, but it can be hard to stay positive all the time. Sometimes the little things build up and you just feel like exploding. You realise that you’re not in fact “normal” and you are in fact “different”. Once you come to this realisation its another step that you have to take in accepting this stupid disease. It’s hard for people to understand the mental turmoil MSers go through. They hear that we can live a normal life and then assume that we are normal. I am not “normal” and I will not be “normal” for the rest of my live. I am different, and its up to me to find a way to live with that. MSers feel the need to do things on their own and keep up with everyone else in order to keep their pride and live up to this “normal” façade that has been created. Its hard for me to ask for help, even though I know that everyone is willing to help me. People with MS feel hopeless when they ask for help, we are not “normal”. We need help, we need understanding, and we need patience. Not just from others, but, from ourselves. If we can’t accept this disease for what it is, negativity will take over and life will undoubtedly become more frustrating and more infuriating. MS is hard to live with. Physically it is heart-breaking, pride knocking and exasperating to boot. I feel that this disease is much harder on one’s mental health than any other aspect. If you can’t stay positive you’re in big trouble. Accept who you are, you have to live with this disease for the foreseeable future. It is not the opinions of others that MSers should worry about, but, the opinions we have of ourselves. If we can’t find a reason to keep going and plough through this illness will eat you up and spit you out without hesitation.

5-reasons-your-run-might-have-sucked-today-L-At1b8g

1394095608999101

Life comes with ups and downs. Unfortunately, for those who have MS depression can be a very prevalent symptom. The feeling of being “abnormal” and “different” definitely doesn’t help us. Although we try our best to fit in and be normal, sometimes its just not possible. The mental anguish that one goes through is appalling. Being told by doctors who have no concept of what it is like to personally have the disease that you are normal and just like everyone else makes my blood boil. Yes, I can do as others do, just in slow motion so I fall behind or so that I will never catch up. The pace of my life is far inferior to than of a “normal” person. It is frustrating, but, you have to carry on. You have to live your life, not theirs. One must not compare oneself to another if they are to possess happiness. Keep living. Albeit in the fast lane, or the slow lane; never give up.

l248004572

just-keep-swimming-dgcarx

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mairead Downey
    Oct 12, 2014 @ 15:49:10

    very proud of you ❤

    Reply

  2. lissms
    Oct 12, 2014 @ 15:54:11

    So true!! So many of the articles are written by people/doctors who don’t have MS. They should experience it for a month, then come talk normal!

    Reply

  3. annette
    Oct 12, 2014 @ 16:04:01

    U go girl ….Love the liverpool Bit xx

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Navigate Between Individual Posts | MS - Mo Scéal

Leave a Reply

